University General Education Committee


The purpose of the University General Education Committee [GEC] is to monitor the University General Education requirements including the approval or disapproval of all proposed curricular modifications affecting these requirements and to coordinate and maintain relationship with other bodies that oversee the curriculum including the University Curriculum Coordinating Committee [UCCC], the General Education Assessment Committee [GEAC], and the Chair of each individual College Curriculum Committee. Curriculum modifications to be considered by the committee include proposed changes to the general education requirements as listed in the University catalogue as well as any changes that may potentially impact these requirements.

Bylaws/Operating Rules

Meeting Schedule/Frequency

The GEC meets every fourth Tuesday of the month for the months of August, Sept, Oct, Nov, Jan, Feb, Mar, Apr. Any other meetings are called as needed.

Agendae of Meetings

Meeting agenda are emailed to committee members approximately one week in advance of the meeting.

Minutes of Meetings

Composition of the Committee

The GEC is a university-wide committee that is composed of voting members who are tenured/tenure-track faculty and ex-officio members representing specific administrative and faculty positions that have responsibilities for the general education curriculum (see bylaws for exact composition). The GEC's voting members are chosen by an election, and voting members serve a three-year term (see bylaws for election procedures).


Voting Members

A. By 3-Year Term

Fall 2013 – Spring 2016
Shaila Christofferson (CAS – Humanities)
Liz Osika (COE)
**vacant (CAS – Math/Nat. Sci. (Math))
Tiffany Davis (CAS – Social Sciences)

Fall 2014 – Spring 2017
Christine Ohale (CAS – Humanities (English))
Sarah Buck (COE)
**vacant (CHSc)
**vacant (COB)
**vacant (Library)

Fall 2015 – Spring 2018
Amber Wise (CAS – Math/Nat. Sci.)
Arthur Redman (CAS – Social Sciences)
Monique Germain (CHSc)
Evelyne Delgado-Norris (Foreign Languages)
Joni Jackson (COB)

** Seat open for SPRING 2016 Nominations and Elections

B. By Area of Representation

Shaila Christofferson
schristo@csu.eduCAS - Humanities2013 - 2016
Christine Ohale
cohale@csu.eduCAS - Humanities (English)2014 - 2017
Vacant CAS - Math/Nat. Sci. (Math)2015 - 2016
Amber Wise
awise@csu.eduCAS - Math/Nat. Sci.2015 - 2018
Arthur Redmanaredman@csu.eduCAS - Social Sciences2015 - 2018
Tiffany Davistdavis46@csu.eduCAS – Social Sciences2013 - 2016
Liz Osikaeosika@csu.eduCOE2013 - 2016
Sarah Bucksbuck@csu.eduCOE2014 - 2017
Monique Germainmgermain@csu.eduCHSc2015 - 2018
vacant CHSc2015 - 2017
vacant COB2014 - 2017
Joni Jackson
jjacks78@csu.eduCOB2015 - 2018
Evelyne Delgado-Norrisenorris@csu.eduForeign Languages2015 - 2018
Joanna Kolendo (1yr temp)jkolendo@csu.eduLibrary2014-2017

Ex-Officio Members

Angela Hendersonprovost@csu.eduProvost
Elizabeth Arnott-Hillearnott@csu.eduAcademic Affairs
Leroy Jonesljones27@csu.eduDean of CAS
Ivy Dunnidunn@csu.eduInterim Associate Dean of CAS
Aida Abrahaaabraha@csu.eduuInterim Associate Dean of CAS
Omar Headenoheaden@csu.eduDean of the Honors College
Barbara Belislebbelisle@csu.eduLicensure Officer
vacant Director of Evaluations
Nellie Maynardnmaynard@csu.eduInterim Dean of Continuing Education & Non-Traditional Degree Programs
Mark Sudeithmsudeith@csu.eduChair of the GEAC
Philip Croncepcronce@csu.eduChair of the UCCC
vacant Faculty Senate Representative
Steve Rowesrowe@csu.eduOutgoing Chair of the GEC

Officers for 2015-2016 (Elected at Meeting on September 3, 2015)

Chair: Shaila Christofferson 
Vice-Chair: Art Redman
Secretary: Amber Wise