Chicago State University

Office of the Dean Biographies

Elmer J. Gentry, Ph.D., is the Interim Dean and an Associate Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences at Chicago State University College of Pharmacy (CSU-COP). Dr. Gentry received his B.S. from Missouri Western State College (1993 in Chemistry) and M.S. (1996) and Ph.D. (1999) in Medicinal Chemistry from the University of Kansas. He served on the faculty at Midwestern University, College of Pharmacy-Glendale from 1999-2007.

He was named the 2007 Teacher of the Year for both the first and second-year pharmacy classes at the College of Pharmacy-Glendale. Additionally, he has received the Edgar C. Little Outstanding Chemistry Graduate Award from Missouri Western State College, the Pharmacy Graduate Student Honors Symposium Award from the University of Kansas, and an American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education Pre-doctoral fellowship from 1997-1999. He was honored as the National Advisor of the Year runner-up by the Phi Delta Chi pharmacy fraternity.

Dr. Gentry is a member of numerous scientific and professional organizations and has served as the Chair of the Section of Teachers of Chemistry of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. His research interests include synthetic manipulation of antimicrobial agents to modulate potency and spectrum of activity, use of combinatorial chemistry for drug discovery and development, and improving the delivery of science courses for professional and pre-professional students.



Nancy C. Grim Hunter, Ph.D. is the Assistant Dean of Assessment at Chicago State University College of Pharmacy (CSU-COP). Dr. Grim Hunter received her B.S. Chemistry from Ohio University (1993), M.S. Chemistry (Physical Organic and Education) from Miami University of Ohio (1996), and Ph.D. Curriculum & Instruction (Science Education) from University of Illinois at Chicago (2007).

Prior to serving in the College of Pharmacy, Dr. Grim was faculty in both the College of Arts & Sciences in the Department of Chemistry and Physics and the College of Education in the Elementary and Middle School Programs, where she holds the rank of Professor and has earned tenure. As the former Associate Dean in the College of Education, Dr. Grim led the Colleges of Education and Arts & Sciences through many accreditation and approval site visits. The Higher Learning Commission and the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education cited her work in assessment and accreditation as exemplary models. Dr. Grim has earned numerous teaching awards including the CSU Faculty Excellence Award in Research and in Teaching, the CSU College of Education Distinguished Educator Award, and the National Science Teachers Association Super Key Leader Award.

She has been the principal investor / co-PI on numerous grant projects including the CSU Teacher Quality Enhancement Middle School Project. In addition, the Rev. Dr. Nancy Grim Hunter is an ordained clergy member in the United Methodist Church, Northern Illinois Conference.

Founding Dean and Dean Emeritus

David J. Slatkin, Ph.D. Founding Dean and Dean Emeritus of the Chicago State University College of Pharmacy (CSU-COP). He provided the leadership in establishing his third college of pharmacy. Previously, he served as Founding Dean and Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the Midwestern University College of Pharmacy - Glendale. He served in that capacity since the college's founding in 1998. Dr. Slatkin originally joined Midwestern University (MWU) in 1991 as Founding Dean of the Chicago College of Pharmacy. Prior to joining MWU, he served as Assistant Dean for Student Affairs and Director of Graduate Programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy.

Born in Brooklyn, NY and graduated from Scarsdale High School, Dr. Slatkin holds Bachelors Degrees from Wayne State University, Detroit (1966 in Chemistry) and Mercer University's Southern School of Pharmacy, Atlanta (1968) and the M.S. (1971) and Ph.D. (1972) degrees from the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy. From 1972 to 1973, he taught at the Northeast Louisiana University School of Pharmacy. From 1973 until 1991, he served on the Faculty of the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy. He was the recipient of the Merck Award from Mercer University and was an American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education - Edwin Leigh Newcomb Memorial Fellow at the University of Mississippi.

His research interests encompassed several areas within Pharmacognosy. He has authored over eighty scientific publications, served as a reviewer for the Journal of Natural Products and Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences and has been the major advisor for twelve graduate students. He is a member of Rho Chi Honorary Society and Phi Delta Chi Pharmacy Fraternity. He has been very active in many professional and scientific organizations, including serving as Treasurer of the American Society of Pharmacognosy since 1981. In 1999, Dr. Slatkin was selected by American Pharmacist magazine as one of the 50 Most Influential Pharmacists in the US.


Ms. Yolanda Solarte is the Office Administrator to the Dean at Chicago State University (CSU-COP).  Ms. Solarte also serves as the central person to the Departments of Pharmacy Academic Affairs and the Office of Pharmacy Development Affairs.   She provides administrative support for the departments. Ms. Solarte has served the College in this position since March 2007. Prior to this position, Ms. Solarte served as Administrative Secretary in the Office of the President for 17 years.  Ms. Solarte comes to us with educational and corporate work experience.