Chicago State University

President Z Scott Honored by Illinois State Treasurer

President Z Scott Honored by Illinois State Treasurer

President Z Scott was honored and received an award on Thursday, February 28, 2019 for her “Outstanding Commitment in Education” and the community during a celebration hosted by Illinois State Treasurer Michael Frerichs to commemorate Black History Month. 

Chicago State University’s ROTC presented and retired colors (flags) during the ceremony.  Illinois Governor, J.B. Pritzker and Lieutenant Governor Juliana Stratton were present.

President Scott was one of six honorees to receive an award from Mr. Frerichs for their contribution to the greater community of Illinois.





Outstanding Service in Business Fragrances Fallon Johnson, CEO/Founder, Annie Bell
Outstanding Commitment to Community Services Eli Williamson, Co-Founder, Leave No Veteran Behind
Outstanding Commitment in Education Zaldwaynaka “Z” Scott, President, Chicago State University
Outstanding Service in Workforce and Labor Mack Julion, President National Association of Letter Carriers, Chicago Branch 11
Outstanding Achievement in Sportsmanship

Jessica McCaskill, World Boxing Council, Super Lightweight Champion of the World

Outstanding Commitment as an Elected Official Honorable Toi Hutchinson, Illinois State Senator, 40th District