Chicago State University


Composition of the Committee

The GEC is a university-wide committee that is composed of voting members who are tenured/tenure-track faculty and ex-officio members representing specific administrative and faculty positions that have responsibilities for the general education curriculum (see bylaws for exact composition). The GEC's voting members are chosen by an election, and voting members serve a three-year term (see bylaws for election procedures).


Voting Members
A. By 3-Year Term

Fall 2014 – Spring 2017
Christine Ohale (CAS – Humanities (English))
Sarah Buck (COE)
**vacant (CHSc) Open
**vacant (COB) Open
Joanna Kolendo (Library)

Fall 2015 – Spring 2018
**vacant (CAS – Math/Nat. Sci.) Open
Arthur Redman (CAS – Social Sciences)
**vacant (CHSc) Open
Evelyne Delgado-Norris (Foreign Languages)
Joni Jackson (COB)

Fall 2016 – Spring 2019
Mark Smith (CAS – Humanities)
Douglas Lia (COE) (interim appointment; election in September 2017)
Tiffany Davis (CAS – Soc Sci) (interim appointment; election in September 2017)
J. Archibald Peters (CAS – Natural Sciences)

** Seat open for SPRING 2017 Nominations and Elections

B. By Area of Representation

Name Email Affiliation Term
Mark Smith CAS - Humanities 2016 - 2019
Christine Ohale CAS - Humanities (English) 2014 - 2017
Vacant   CAS - Math/Nat. Sci. (Math) 2015 - 2018
J. Archibald Peters CAS - Math/Nat. Sci. 2016 - 2019
Arthur Redman CAS - Social Sciences 2015 - 2018
Tiffany Davis (interim) CAS – Social Sciences 2016 - 2019
Douglas Lia (interim) COE 2016 - 2019
Sarah Buck COE 2014 - 2017
Vacant   CHSc 2015 - 2018
Vacant   CHSc 2014 - 2017
Vacant   COB 2014 - 2017
Joni Jackson COB 2015 - 2018
Evelyne Delgado-Norris Foreign Languages 2015 - 2018
Joanna Kolendo (1yr temp) Library 2014-2017

Ex-Officio Members

Name Email Affiliation
Angela Henderson Interim Provost
Satasha Green Academic Affairs
Leroy Jones Interim Dean of CAS
Aida Abraha aabraha@csu.eduu Interim Associate Dean of CAS
Omar Headen Interim Dean of the Honors College
Barbara Belisle Director of Teacher Certification
vacant   Director of Evaluations
Nellie Maynard Interim Dean of Continuing Education & Non-Traditional Degree Programs
Mark Sudeith Chair of the GEAC
Philip Cronce Chair of the UCCC
vacant   Faculty Senate Representative
Shaila Christofferson
Former Chair of the UGECC

Officers for 2016-2017 (Elected at Meeting on September, 2016)

Chair: Art Redman
Vice-Chair: vacant
Secretary: Sarah Buck